The New Zealand Cricket team’s first Test – by Ben Smith – The Times (Dublin)

By Ben Smith The New Zealander has been named as captain for the second Test of the series against Sri Lanka, the team confirmed on Friday.

Auckland’s Trent Boult and Wellington’s Mitchell Johnson are the only players in the side who have not played a Test in the past 18 months.

The South African captain, who will captain the team for the third Test at the MCG on Sunday, said he would be “extremely proud” of his team for putting the effort in to get to this point.

“I’m delighted to be joining a squad of world class players, who have given their all for this cause, for the team to reach this milestone,” Boult said.

“It’s been a fantastic season, and the team have been doing a fantastic job, both on and off the field, in helping the team reach this level.”

Boult said he wanted to thank his team-mates for their dedication to the cause, which they have been able to achieve without the support of the media.

“You can’t get the media to focus on a few of these players and the quality of their performance, so it’s been really good to have this squad of players, like myself, who come into the team, and they’re all really committed to the issue,” he said.RTE: South Africa must play a good Test match if they are to win the seriesBoult has taken charge of South Africa’s first two Tests against Sri Lankan opposition and will take charge of the third one against the visitors on Sunday.

“We have a very good side,” he added.

“We’re playing well, we’re playing with confidence, we’ve had some very good bowling from our side, so we’re really pleased to have a group of good bowlers and we’ve got a good team.”

South Africa have now won seven of their last eight Tests and have not lost in the series since 2009.

Boult will be joined in the captain’s chair by Wellington’s David Warner, who has been placed in the Test side after his World Cup innings in New Zealand helped secure his place.

The 34-year-old will take on England’s Alex Hales in the first Test at Lord’s, while England’s Michael Vaughan and West Indies’ Moeen Ali will lead the squad for the first and third Tests respectively.